Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  
Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
(Forum Locked Forum Locked)
Cast Bullets
 Handloads.Com Forum : Cast Bullets
Subject Topic: Light to Medium loads for the 45-70 Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Lead Head
Newcomer

Online Status: Offline
Posted: January 18 2007 at 6:01pm | IP Logged Quote Lead Head

Hi guys:

I am a NEWBIE to the 45-70 Govt round, and am looking for reloading data for light to medium loads using 300gr to 500gr lead bullets.

A few of my buddies at work finally talked me into buying an H&R Buffalo Classic in 45-70 (which I have yet to shoot....... ). I bought a small can of Trail Boss to try, but I am looking for light-medium loads using pistol powders like WW 231, WW Super Field, WW Super Target, HP-38, etc.

If I am in the wrong forum for this request, please tell me. I looked for a "reloading" forum and didn't see one...

Thanks

Back to Top View Lead Head's Profile Search for other posts by Lead Head

gstanfield

Posted: January 18 2007 at 6:11pm | IP Logged Quote gstanfield

NO, you got it right. reloading, handloading, it's the same thing. Paul5388 will chime in here soon I'm sure. He is our resident expert with the 45-70 and reduced power loads. He uses Bluedot in almost everything (I've heard he even uses it sprinkled on his grits, but I don't know for sure)

I'll look and see what I can find with trailboss, as well as any other reduced power loads I have. There are several of us on here with Buffalo Classics, including myself. I did rechamber mine to a 45-120 though, so as you'll probably guess reduced loads are not much of my stronghold.

Welcome to the forum, it's a great palce with plenty of good info and I'm sure you will find it to be a great resource.

Georeg

I Peter 2:17

1911, when 9-1-1 just isn't enough!