Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  
Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
(Forum Locked Forum Locked)
Long Guns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Long Guns
Subject Topic: .270, 130 gr. Hornady sst Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
maineac
Newcomer

Online Status: Offline
Posted: August 16 2007 at 5:18am | IP Logged Quote maineac

I am new to reloading. My .270 is very fussy, and seems to like fast loads. It shoots 1" groups with Rem. corlokts, which list muzzle velocity as 3320. slower lads group miserably. I was looking for a bullet which would expand faster and went with the sst. A couple of reloaders suggested IMR 4831. Staying in the manufacturers guidelines I am getting 10" groups. I am guessing that my velocity is well below the Rem. speed. Any suggestions fro getting the bullet velocity closer to the Remington stats?    
Back to Top View maineac's Profile Search for other posts by maineac Visit maineac's Homepage

Leftoverdj

Posted: August 16 2007 at 6:15am | IP Logged Quote Leftoverdj

If you are getting that much difference and your rifle will still group well with Corelokt, you have serious bedding issues. You might also check out the scope if you are out of Corelokt. I have never seen a change anywhere close to 10" from just a load change.

I have also never seen a .270 that would not shoot at least fairly well with 57 grains of IMR 4831 and any decent 130 grain bullet.
Back to Top View Leftoverdj's Profile Search for other posts by Leftoverdj

Buffalogun

Posted: August 16 2007 at 4:44pm | IP Logged Quote Buffalogun

maineac,

First, Welcome to the forum!

I am assuming you are working with the 270 Winchester cartridge!

Remington list their 100g PSP at 3,320 fps. You won't be able to safely shoot 130g bullets at 3,320 fps. from the 270 Winchester.