Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  
Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
(Forum Locked Forum Locked)
Long Guns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Long Guns
Subject Topic: 7mm Rem Mag Browning BAR Powder Question Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
RaggedRanger

Online Status: Offline
Posted: February 18 2009 at 1:14pm | IP Logged Quote RaggedRanger

Hello,

I have been lurking and learning for a while and I think I have a couple questions that can't be answered by doing a search. I have learned so much from just reading what you guys have to say and first I want to thank you for your time and knowledge.

I am just getting into this hobby and my first load will be for a Browning BAR in 7mm Rem Mag. My plan is to start with 162g Hornday SST's because they seem like a good tradeoff between price/performance, and I like the cannelure that some of the other brands around that size/caliber lack. Maybe I'm being overly concerned about that, but it seems like a good idea to keep the bullet where it aught to be on a semi-auto, and it gives me that much more assurance that I have the seating depth right at the seating stage.

My first question is about powder. I have been reading a lot of threads where people are trying to figure out what the best powder is for 7mm Rem Mag. Some of the more popular ones seem to be IMR 4350, RL 22 and H4831SC. The negatives that I have read about them are the RL 22 is temperature sensitive and less consistent as well as being an extruded powder that won't meter all that well (http://forums.handloads.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=9636). IMR 4350 seems to turn in somewhat lower velocities according to the data books and is also temperature sensitive (http://forums.handloads.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=2860).

That left me with H4831SC, but there is something strange about it. In comparing the load data, I see: