Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  
Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
(Forum Locked Forum Locked)
Long Guns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Long Guns
Subject Topic: .233 reloading for 1:9 barrel Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
gotsig?

Online Status: Offline
Posted: May 22 2009 at 6:37pm | IP Logged Quote gotsig?

looking for recommendation on reloading my Rock River AR15 Entry Tactical. It has a 1:9 barrel. I'm new to loading .223's so I need a little help here. I bought a case of PMC ammo and will use that to reload as I eat through it.

Looking for what is the best weight bullet and some powder recommendations. I have Speer and Lymans manuals, but I'm looking for some tried and true recipes shall we say since the manuals aren't always on the mark and don't give a lot (but do give some), barrel twist info :)
Back to Top View gotsig?'s Profile Search for other posts by gotsig?

Papa Bear

Posted: May 22 2009 at 8:22pm | IP Logged Quote Papa Bear

My AR with a 1:9 loves 62gr bullets with H335 and CCI srm primers loaded close to max.

TexIndian

Posted: May 22 2009 at 9:21pm | IP Logged Quote TexIndian

I've been loading 62 and 69 grainers in my relatively new AR with 1:9, but I'm not through working up the 'best' load yet. Powder is 748 with CCI SR magnum primers. 62gr is probably the most often recommended bullet for that twist rate.

If that PMC ammo is like the stuff I bought in the 80's, the primers are crimped in like military brass and needs to have the crimp removed before you can insert new primers. It is a lot like LC in thickness, too. That stuff just doesn't wear out.

I carry a gun because a cop is too heavy.
Back to Top View TexIndian's Profile Search for other posts by TexIndian

gotsig?

Posted: May 23 2009 at 3:10am | IP Logged Quote gotsig?

Primers are not crimped. Another reason to get the PMC :)