Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  
Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
(Forum Locked Forum Locked)
Handguns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Handguns
Subject Topic: rainier TCJ bullets for 44 magnum Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
mikemmcd
Newcomer

Online Status: Offline
Posted: December 24 2004 at 3:05pm | IP Logged Quote mikemmcd

I am just starting out reloading my own ammo in 44 magnum and 40s&w. I do alot of shooting at an indoor pistol range and must use leadsafe bullets. Has anyone loaded the Rainier total copper jacket hollow point bullets for the 44 magnum and 40s&w? If so, what loading data are you using? I don't need full powerhouse loads for target shooting. I currently load 12 gauge shotgun shells with IMR 700x powder and would like to use the same for my handgun loads. Also want to get VV110 to load heavy 44 magnum loads for hunting.

I also have some questions about reloading pistol ammo. Do I need to buy a tumbler to clean the cases? Also, will I need to buy a trimmer as well? Anything else? The dies I am getting do not require case lube. I don't want to buy what I don't need. I am getting a scale. I am looking at the Lee hand loader to load since I cannot afford a more expensive press. I eventually plan to reload 30/06 as well.
Any tips or advice from any experienced handloaders would help.
Back to Top View mikemmcd's Profile Search for other posts by mikemmcd

bculp72
Newcomer

Posted: December 28 2004 at 1:16pm | IP Logged Quote bculp72

mike , i have loaded the rainiers in my 44 mag and didnt care for them at all. i switched to the remington bulk bullets for the same gun and have not looked back. the rainiers just didn't shoot well for me, especially at above ave. velocities. hope this helps. good luck!
Back to Top View bculp72's Profile Search for other posts by bculp72

mikemmcd
Newcomer