Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  

Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
Long Guns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Long Guns
Subject Topic: loading for AR 15/5.56x45 Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Montana Griz
Newcomer

Online Status: Offline
Posted: September 18 2011 at 5:39pm | IP Logged Quote Montana Griz

Newbie here...getting back into handloading after a 10 year "hiatus" from doing any. Just sold some firearms that I'll never use any more & acquired instead an AR 15:(LMT Upper & CMMG Lower)...(5.56, 20" S.S. barrel, 1 in 8 twist, free float hand guard, 2 stage trigger, 4.5 to 14 scope & BiPod.)....

At 79&1/2 I still have 20/20 vision with Rx lenses and I've got a 100 yard range on my place (live out in the boonies)......so "why not"?

Got some questions that maybe you'd be kind enough to answer.......thanks in advance.

1/...Got some un-opened 1# containers of the following:
     H-380, H-414, H-4895, H-450, & VARGET.
also: W-W760, IMR-3031, IMR-4320 & IMR-4064.
......It's all about 10 to 15 years old.....do you think it is safe to use? (if it smells right, looks OK & has no "rust" in it--some of it is in metal cans.

2/...What "case lube" do you recommend? I understand this is real important for the 5.56 brass to avoid any stuck cases.

3/...Regarding Dies:....A friend suggests I get a: Lee "Pacesetter" 3 Die set that includes a "factory crimp Die" to get a "taper crimp"....all my other dies (from many years ago) are RCBS...but I have no problem with Lee, if it's the way to go for the .223 )5.56x45 NATO).

4/...My brass to reload will be: "once fired in my AR", from a carton of 500 "Federal American Eagle-55 gr FMJ/BT" that I just bought.

5/...What Primers should I buy:...all I've got on hand are Large Rifle(reg & Mag), Large Pistol(reg & Mag) & Small Magnum Pistol.