Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  

Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
Handguns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Handguns
Subject Topic: 9mm Nine Grains Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
hdwhit

Online Status: Offline
Posted: January 11 2018 at 3:14pm | IP Logged Quote hdwhit

I have been reloading for more than 40 years. The first two years with the "classic" Lee Loader and the last 38 with an RCBS Reloader Special press.

Recently, I was given some 9mm brass. And if I had 9mm brass, I had to load for it. And if I loaded for it, I had to be able to test what I made. You get the idea.

Not familiar with the different projectiles, I ordered a mixed lot of pulled plated and jacketed bullets to gain some experience. I ended up with a nice assortment of 115, 124 and 148 grain bullets in round nose and hollow point.

Beginning with some HP-38, the Starting Load was tool light to cycle my pistol, but I eventually laddered my way up to something that was reliable.

My question has to do with the 115 grain bullets versus the 124 grain bullets. Or more properly, why are there two bullets so close together in weight? I know I don't have a lot of experience with the cartridge yet, but there just doesn't seem to be much difference between the two loading. Is there a reason or is it just down to personal preference?
Back to Top View hdwhit's Profile Search for other posts by hdwhit

Desert Eagle41

Posted: January 11 2018 at 5:01pm | IP Logged Quote Desert Eagle41

The way I understand it is the 115 was the original 9mm round and then others were invented. I could be wrong. Craig

LAH

Posted: January 12 2018 at 5:38pm | IP Logged Quote LAH

The difference between the 115 & 124 is 9 grains like
you say. While that seems close look at the 38 special
were the 2 popular weights are 148 & 158 a difference of
10 grains.

RT58