Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  

Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
General Discussion
 Handloads.Com Forum : General Discussion
Subject Topic: Florida Shooting Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
John Van Gelder

Online Status: Offline
Posted: February 18 2018 at 10:57am | IP Logged Quote John Van Gelder

A friend of mine called me this morning, she wanted to know what I thought about the recent school shooting, beside the one in Florida, their was another in Washington, that doesn't appear to have made the national news.

My thought that these things are a break down in our society. The immediate response to this is for more gun control. It is already quite difficult to purchase firearms, more so than when I was a high school student. Back in the 50 in rural communities, it was not uncommon for kids to have guns in their lockers so they could go hunting right after school.

I have no clear answer, perhaps getting into to school needs to be like getting on an airplane.

Back to Top View John Van Gelder's Profile Search for other posts by John Van Gelder

Rex

Posted: February 18 2018 at 11:25am | IP Logged Quote Rex

Perhaps parents need to start being parents. Respect for firearms and almost everything else was taught from a very young age. As soon as you were old enough to touch a gun you started getting instructions on use and attitude. My Irish Dad showed me a time or two why he was considered one of the better local fighters in our small area in his youth.
Back to Top View Rex's Profile Search for other posts by Rex

John Van Gelder

Posted: February 18 2018 at 12:10pm | IP Logged Quote John Van Gelder

Rex

The world has changed drastically since we were young. I can't help but think that young people have been desensitized to violence, because there is so much in movies, TV and video games.