Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  

Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
Long Guns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Long Guns
Subject Topic: Fired vs Unfired and bullet seating Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Abram

Online Status: Offline
Posted: April 06 2018 at 9:50am | IP Logged Quote Abram

I have been reloading for about 12 years now and for the most part I have followed the loading manuals to the letter with regard to COL. I have managed to develop some pretty nice loads for my rifles but I am wanting to start working with adjusting the bullet with regards to how far it sits from the lands. Now this leads me to my question, in reading some have suggested using a fire formed case from that particular gun, I understand why but others have stated they use a new resized case while other use something like Hornady sells which is a modified case, which is suppose to be better, it may be obvious but I am curious, for those of you that work with adjusting the distance to the lands what is your preferred method?
Back to Top View Abram's Profile Search for other posts by Abram

mikld

Posted: April 06 2018 at 11:04am | IP Logged Quote mikld

Are you asking about a cartridge modified to be used in a
Hornady OAL gauge?

Tom W.

Posted: April 06 2018 at 11:19am | IP Logged Quote Tom W.

I'll take a bullet and blacken it w/a magic marker, put it in a dummy round and put it into the chamber. I have a single shot, so magazine length isn't an issue. If there are rifling marks on the bullet when I take it out I'll re-blacken it, seat the bullet a bit more and try until I get it almost but not touching the rifling. Then I'll load up ten and see how they shoot. It worked wonders in my 30/30 NEF, and I did the same in my two Ruger #1B's.