Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  

Home | Load data | Articles | Ballistic Calc | Energy Calc
Long Guns
 Handloads.Com Forum : Long Guns
Subject Topic: .222 Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
John Van Gelder

Online Status: Offline
Posted: May 04 2018 at 5:47am | IP Logged Quote John Van Gelder

I started shooting the .222 back in the 50s a very popular caliber back in the farm country of New York state, back in those days there were lots of wood chucks and the .222 did a very nice job of thinning out the crop.

Lately most of my shooting with the .222 has been light cast bullets at targets and the occasional ground squirrel.

I was running low on brass a couple of years back, but instead of buying new .222, I started picking up .223 brass, that was lying on the ground at one of the local shooting spots, I have a RCBS .222 trim die that I run the .223s through.

One session of picking brass picking and now I have a lifetime supply of .222s.

Back to Top View John Van Gelder's Profile Search for other posts by John Van Gelder

Rex

Posted: May 04 2018 at 6:11am | IP Logged Quote Rex

An old friend of mine had a .222 Remington 760 pump gun that I always liked to shoot.
Back to Top View Rex's Profile Search for other posts by Rex

Old Ranger

Posted: May 04 2018 at 12:48pm | IP Logged Quote Old Ranger

So easy huh?

The cases are so close.
I use .222Rem dies with my 310 tools to load .223Rem for
my M4 clone. Great interchangeably.

Well done on revamping that 222Rem!

Monte Walsh
Back to Top View Old Ranger's Profile Search for other posts by Old Ranger

Paul B.

Posted: May 04 2018 at 3:06pm | IP Logged Quote Paul B.

Old Ranger wrote:
So easy huh?

The cases are so close.
I use .222Rem dies with my 310 tools to load .223Rem for
my M4 clone. Great interchangeably.

Well done on revamping that 222Rem!